The Most Pathetic Song in the World

Posted on March 31, 2009 by

8


I was listening to the radio yesterday and caught part of a catchy song. At first I thought it was Nickelback. The lyrics were self-absorbed and whiny, and the sound was, well, Nickelback-y.

Turns out it’s actually by a band I’ve never heard of, Theory of a Deadman. The song is called “Not Meant to Be”. It includes such lines as, “It’s never enough to say I love you/No, it’s never enough to say I try” [you’re right, generally just saying you try isn’t enough. You kind of have to actually try], “Nobody wins when everyone’s losing” [yup], and “No matter what I do/You’re always mad…Maybe we’re not meant to be” [I sympathize here, having been in a couple of those relationships back in the day].

So basically the guy is in an unhealthy, dysfunctional relationship. That’s understandable, it happens. The reason the song bugs me is that it continues a trend of whiny rockstar songs singing about relationships, who can’t seem to figure out what makes relationships work. Please, someone, sing a song that sheds light and understanding rather than just moaning woes!

Posted in: Music, Uncategorized