One of Those Experiences

Posted on March 18, 2009 by

0


I was just over at the convenience store to get some candy. While I was there, a young man walking with a cane introduced himself to me and asked if I could help him carry his purchases to his car. As we walked together, he told me what had happened.

His name is Jesse. He used to live in California. He worked for the school district, was in good health (220 pounds with 16-inch biceps, he said), and married with children. He got in a motorcycle accident in September 2006. When he woke up from his coma in July 2007, he could barely walk and had lost all functioning in his right arm. By this time, his wife had left with the kids and he was let go from work, due to his injuries.

Now he’s moved up to Oregon and getting ready to start coming to college for the first time in his life. He wants to get his GED and become a youth counselor. He’s the nicest, most grateful guy, and thanks God to be alive.

I’m not sure what the lesson is. I think there are several. But I’m glad he asked me to walk with him today.

Posted in: Friends