The Hill of Excitement

Posted on March 6, 2009 by

5


We’re selling our house! Yay!

Well, things are looking that way, at least. It’s been a good house, but it’s gotten a little small. Now, with baby #3 coming in a couple months, we’re really looking forward to moving somewhere with a bit more space. Heather and I have been looking at houses, duplexes, and apartments for the last few weeks now. Last night we found a beautiful house for rent. Still, I try not to get too excited. Here’s how I see it:

daneinoldhouse

I'm in a good place. It could be better, but it's not bad.

Sometimes I get excited, imagining how awesome life will be when we move.

Sometimes I get excited, imagining how awesome life will be when we move.

Of course, reality can't live up to my expectations. The new place is better, but instead of comparing it to the old place, I compare it to how excited I was about it.

Of course, reality can't live up to my expectations. The new place is better, but instead of comparing it to the old place, I compare it to how excited I was about it.

daneinnewhouse

If I skip the excitement part, then I'm more likely to be grateful for what I get.

So that’s the hill of excitement. It gets in the way when I look back, trying to appreciate where I am from where I was.

Posted in: Announcement, Home