Christmas Eve

Posted on December 24, 2008 by

1


The kids are in bed and the house is quiet, except for the sound of the dishwasher. Christmas is a different animal now that I’m grown, and I’m still trying to figure it out. However, the candles are burning, the hot chocolate is tasty, and my beautiful wife is reading her scriptures on the floor near me, so something is definitely right.

(Incidentally, I’ve been experimenting with egg nog in my hot chocolate this week. It’s great, but less is more.)

The weather has been cold and snowy here for the last two weeks. Church was even canceled last Sunday, a first in my memory. I’ve had some boxes of chocolate I was supposed to deliver to various families in the ward. I was putting it off all week, waiting for the weather to clear up.

The weather never did clear up, and now it’s Christmas Eve so I couldn’t put it off any longer. I made the deliveries tonight. One of the addresses I didn’t know. It turned out to be on the far end of town, halfway between here and Falls City. Driving in the slush and the snow on dark rural roads, I considered saving that one for tomorrow. But I decided in the end to just go out and get it done.

It was a mini-adventure, involving some running through the snow betwixt the late-night construction crews who are working to restore power in the area. And when it was done, I felt to say, “I am awesome!” It was a new kind of Christmas spirit for me, and maybe not the most Christ-like one. On the other hand, however, maybe that’s exactly the Christ-like spirit, because He was awesome, and I bet He knew it. He was humble and awesome. That’s because awesomeness comes from doing the things you don’t want to do, because they need to be done; and that’s what Jesus’ life was all about.

Posted in: Christmas