Politics: The Post Turtle

Posted on September 28, 2008 by

2


(note: I posted this at my other blog but I doubt most of you visit it so I’m reposting here)

I’m prefacing political posts with the above prefix. This way if discussing or politics upsets you, feel free to peruse to another post on the blog. However, even if you don’t agree with my stance I encourage you to read and examine what I write on with an open mind

As the current president (Texas native) and one of the two major party candidates enjoys giving folksy stories when explaining policy issues and current events, I thought this adage was appropriate in light of the pending debate on Thursday.

While suturing a cut on the hand of a 75-year old Texas rancher whose hand was caught in a gate while working cattle, the doctor struck up a conversation with the old man. Eventually the topic got around to Sarah Palin and her bid to be a heartbeat away from being President . The old rancher said, “Well, ya know, Palin is a post turtle.”

Not being familiar with the term, the doctor asked him what a post turtle was. The old rancher said, “When you’re driving down a country road and you come across a fence post with a turtle balanced on top, that’s a post turtle.”

The old rancher saw a puzzled look on the doctor’s face, so he continued to explain. ‘“You know she didn’t get up there by herself, she doesn’t belong up there, she doesn’t know what to do while she is up there, and you just wonder what kind of dumb idiot put her up there to begin with.”

I could have possibly supported McCain even though I leaned Obama before his selection of Sarah Palin. I don’t have enough negative words to express my feelings about how terrible of a candidate she is.

Trainwreck.

Nightmare.

Disaster.

Every interview she gives (two total, three if you count Sean Hannity lobbing softballs for 20 minutes) exposes how insanely unqualified this individual is to lead the United States of America. If you have not watched either interview with Katie Couric, please take the eleven minutes to do so.

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4476649n

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4476721n

I can understand that people may question Obama on the grounds that he lacks experience to serve as president of our country. I share some of those reservations.

However, watching Obama give an interview is like night and day compared to Palin. It is obvious that she had never spent a day thinking about national issues before she was chosen as McCain’s running mate and it shows.

Some examples: she cannot speak with any substance about relevant domestic and foreign issues. She continues to cite her states’ proximity to Russia as a foreign policy qualification. The lunacy of this logic is hopefully apparent to anyone reading. I can see the moon from my house, does that make me an astronaut?

Contrast the above interview with Obama’s recent interview with Bill O’Reilly, distinguished humble correspondent for Fox News and note any gaps in his knowledge and understanding of domestic and foreign issues.

It is rather obvious from the interview that Obama has spent a great deal of time thinking about a range of issues that are relevant to our nation. You may not agree with him on many of them, but I believe it worthy to note his intelligence and understanding of what is going on in the world. This was also apparent in the first debate with McCain on Friday.

The last point that I would like to make is that John McCain is the oldest man to run for a first term as President. He is a four-time Melanoma survivor. His last surgery for it was in 2000:

McCain endured 5½ hours of surgery to remove a patch of skin including the blemish, roughly 5 cm (2 in.) wide. The diagnosis: Stage 2A melanoma, an invasive form of skin cancer that claims the lives of up to 34% of those diagnosed within 10 years.[1]

He has not and probably will not release his complete medical records before November 4th.

If McCain is elected the 44th President of the United States, Sarah Palin will be one tick of his heart away from becoming the 45th President of the United States.

Even if I agreed with her on every issue, the prospect of having Sarah Palin in the highest office is unacceptable. I will not vote for a McCain/Palin ticket.

Tune in next time for why a McCain/Romney ticket may* have enticed me.

*Even though he’s a Mormon (j/k)

Posted in: Politics