Odd Encounter

Posted on September 24, 2008 by

0


While pushing the kids in the stroller last night, I crossed a bridge where a woman stood. She was so still, I thought she might be a sculpture. Under her arm was a long cardboard box, and she wore a bandana in her gray hair. She looked up as she heard me approach, at quickly took the box and popped it on her head like a hat. Then she grabbed a big blue opaque plastic lid, the sort that goes on storage bins, and held it up in front of her face, so that I couldn’t see her.

As I walked past her, across the bridge, she turned to keep the lid between us. I don’t know if it was so I wouldn’t be able to see her, or so she wouldn’t be able to see me. I don’t know what happened after I left, but I imagine she went back to staring into the creek that ran under the bridge.

Tagged: , , ,
Posted in: Nature