False Dichotomy

Posted on September 4, 2008 by

2


I’ve really enjoyed this election cycle. The last year of presidential politics has been both entertaining and educational. I’ve had plenty of opportunity to examine my own feelings on issues. It turns out that, most of the time, my feeling is that I don’t understand the issues well enough to have well-founded convictions on them.

That said, I do have strong feelings on both of the main candidates; I like them both. I think they are both intelligent and capable individuals. I think they have both proposed good solutions, even though their solutions are different from each other. I think that each would bring his own set of assets to the job, and would use them to direct the nation toward prosperity and goodness as best he can.

Which is why my biggest complaint with the election isn’t about either of the candidates or their platforms. Rather, what I can’t stand is the polarizing view that “anyone who disagrees with our candidate is dumb/wrong/evil.” When political dialogue moves from rational problem-solving to devotional adherence, I believe we do disservice to our own reasoning faculties and to the well-being of our communities and nations.

I don’t mean to give the impression that I feel that we should be politically apathetic. Just because I can respect the views of each candidate doesn’t mean that I don’t have my own opinion. I know who I’m voting for in November. I just don’t feel that means the other candidate is a horrible person.

Posted in: Politics