Alpacas

Posted on August 6, 2008 by

2


For those of you who don’t know, my parents just started an alpaca farm.  Alpacas are related to llamas, but they are smaller, cuter (I think), and depending on the breed, not so shaggy.  My parents have the non shaggy kind. 

So, on Wednesdays I usually go visit my mom for the morning.  I asked Alanna who were we going to see? and she answered ” Alpacas”.  Asher then chimed in and started repeating “pacas” over and over, louder each time.  Move over grandma, the alpacas have demoted you.  So we get out of the car and the kids run over to the alpaca penand stand there, calling to the alpacas for awhile, and then go in the house.,  they also love going onto the pen.  Once in there though, we have to pick them up.  Alanna will touch them (if we can get close, they are really hard to catch sometimes) but only from the safety of Mom arms.  Asher screams if they come too close.

Anyway, so they have a new baby alpaca (called a Cria) who was born at the end of last month (pictured).  He’s adorable. And the next alpaca to have a baby is due on the 20th, Dane’s birthday and my sisters due date.  Oh joy.  I get to be the midwife on the off chance that my sister and the alpaca decide to go into labor at the same time.  Having never done it before it should be interesting.  But not too hard.  If the animal is in labor for more than 1/2 an hour I need to call the vet.  Okay, I can do that. 

Posted in: Uncategorized