The Fountainhead

Posted on August 3, 2008 by

8


So I found my book (hooray!).  I’m now in chapter seven and so far two parts have stuck out to me…

“If you want my advice, Peter,” he said at last, “you’ve made a mistake already.  By asking me.  By asking anyone.  Never ask people.  Not about your work.  Don’t you know what you want?  How can you stand it, not to know?”

I love that.  I wish I was like that.  And then after more thought I realized that maybe that’s not something to strive for.  If you’re honestly unsure of something is it better to pretend that you know what you want and stick with it or do you stay undecisive until you figure it out?  Are there times when it’s better not to ask anyone’s advice and just go with your gut? 

And the other part that stuck out to me was the statement…

“Men hate passion, any great passion.” 

This wouldn’t bug me so much but it seems to be a continuing theme, maybe?  And I disagree.  Or maybe I just need a good real life example of this, but it seems to me that for the most part people with great passion are admired. 

Dane, if this isn’t the right place to discuss this I could move it to Facebook, but I’m under the impression you dont’ get on that very often.

Posted in: Uncategorized