Working Late

Posted on July 23, 2008 by

1


I just started my new job a couple months ago. That means that I’m still on “probation”. While I’m on probation, I don’t get any vacation time, so I need to make up the four days that I took off for the family reunion.

My initial plan was to just work four Saturdays, but we’re also in the process of getting our house ready to sell. Since Saturday is the only day Heather and I can really work on cleaning it up, I decided to work two 12-hour days instead, since that will give me the extra eight hours I need this week.

So yesterday I worked from 7:00 AM to 8:00 PM. At about 6:45 PM, I realized that I was the only person here, and I needed a break. I walked around the office, through the aisles of cubicles, to get my body moving and my blood flowing and my brain working. Then I thought it would be a great idea to try a couple of cartwheels down the cubicle aisle.

(One of my secret pleasures in life is turning cartwheels. Whenever I leave the office to use the restroom, if no one is looking, I’ll turn a few cartwheels in the hall.)

Unfortunately, the cubicle aisles aren’t nearly as wide as the hallway from the office to the restroom. And I was all self-conscious, even though no one was there, so that threw off my center of gravity. My legs didn’t even make it all the way up before I crash-kicked into Charles’s cubicle wall. I heard a clatter and looked in to find his Japanese kanji wall clock on the floor. I couldn’t figure out how to get it back up, so I all stealthily set it onto his desk and slunk away.

As I snuck back into my cubicle, I heard sounds that might have been muffled laughing from a few cubes over. Turns out I wasn’t the only one working late that night.

Posted in: Work