A Sunday Evening

Posted on July 21, 2008 by

0


I’m getting ready for bed, but I want to get in the habit of writing here, so I’ll put down a couple lines.

Heather and I have been reading Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead with a couple of our friends here. I finally finished the book this week, so tonight we went to visit them to discuss it. I consider it to be a great book. The author is a devout atheist and the book tells a story illustrating her very humanist philosophy, but I find that a lot of what she teaches aligns very closely with my understanding of the gospel. Kind of like Nietzsche. Anyway, I highly encourage anyone here to read the book — if you do, let me know, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Elder’s quorum today was from the Joseph Smith manual, chapter 13 on keeping the commandments. Jade and I had a discussion about tattoos and ear piercings while we were at the family reunion, so I went into the lesson with that on my mind. Of course the discussions on differentiating between “commandment” and “counsel” came up, but I haven’t found any fruitful resolution there. However, I did find Deut. 22:12, which helped illustrate the fact that prophets in the past have also given commandments on apparent trivialities.

Posted in: Church, Family